Retaining the Fringe of Area of interest Fragrances Sharp: Artwork & Olfaction Awards Winners, Finalists, and Honorable Mentions

The winners of the ninth Artwork And Olfaction Awards have been introduced in a gala ceremony on the historic Cicada Membership, an artwork deco jewel in downtown Los Angeles on Thursday, Might 11, 2023.

The awards signify a variety of practices and expertise. The perfumes within the Artisan and Impartial classes have been chosen in a blind judging course of over the course of a number of months.

Two winners are awarded a Golden Pear in every the Artisan class and the Impartial class. There are 4 further Golden Pears awarded to: The Sadakichi Class for Experimental Work with Scent, The Aftel Award for Handmade Fragrance, The Contribution to Scent Tradition Award, and at last The Septimus Piesse Award for Distinctive Imaginative and prescient.

   Photo 2. 230511 A&O Awards Night _Saskia Wilson Brown and husband.jpg

Saskia Wilson Brown and husband (Photograph courtesy Institute for Artwork & Olfaction).

Launched in 2014, the Artwork & Olfaction Awards have turn into a extremely distinguished recognition of excellence within the discipline of impartial perfumery. The Artwork and Olfaction Awards are designed to boost curiosity and consciousness for impartial and artisan perfumers and experimental practitioners with scent, by shining a highlight on perfumery’s most excellent creators, and to assist generate assist for impartial practices in perfumery as an entire.

   Photo 3. 230511 A&O Awards Night _Joseph Quartana, Ben Esposito, and Miguel Mathos with the...jpg

Joseph Quartana, Ben Esposito, and Miguel Mathos with their Golden Pear Awards.jpg

Two winners within the “Artisan Class”​

“Tabacco Smeraldo” by Miguel Matos Perfumes
Perfumer: Miguel Matos, Portugal

“Voices” by Home of Mammoth x Lather Speak
Perfumer: Benjamin Esposito, USA

Screenshot 2023-05-15 at 09.35.49.jpg

Andreas Wilhelm accepting his award

Two winners within the “Impartial Class”​

“Ierofante” by Parfums Quartana
Perfumer: Luca Maffei
Artistic Director: Joseph Quartana, USA

“Fuchsrot” by Bodé Studios
Perfumer: Andreas Wilhelm for Bodé Studios, Switzerland
Artistic Director: Lino Bottani, Nicola Deflorin

   Photo 5. 230511 A&O Awards Night _ Sadakichi Award Winner %22Salt Flowers%22Peter de Cupere.jpg

Sadakichi Award Winner “Salt Flowers” Peter de Cupere.

Sadakichi Award Winner​

“Salt Flowers” Peter de Cupere
Perfumer: Peter de Cupere, Belgium

Aftel Award for Handmade Fragrance​

“La Tacita De Cafe” by Day Three Fragrances
Perfumer: Michael Paul, USA

   Photo 7.a 230511 A&O Awards Night _ %22Black Perfumers%22 Award Winners.jpg

“Black Perfumers” Award Winners – Terry Carter, Lakenda Wallace, Ethan Turner, and Tatiana Fortune

   Photo 7.b. 230511 A&O Awards Night _ Sebastian Jara and Terry Carter, one of %22Black Perfu...jpg

Sebastian Jara and Terry Carter

The Contribution to Scent Tradition Award​

“Black Perfumers” by Elle N., and a global collective of 33 perfumers

The Septimus Piesse Award for Distinctive Imaginative and prescient​

“Olif” by Taylor Ahlmark & Anoria Gilbert for Maak Lab, USA

   Photo 8. 230511 A&O Awards Night _ Mabelle O'rama %22Lunar Dust%22 and Sarah Baker %22Gold ...jpg

L. to R. Mabelle O’rama “Lunar Mud” and Sarah Baker “Gold Spot” acquired Honorable Point out

   Photo 9. 230511 A&O Awards Night _Elizabeth Noir, Sebastian Jara, Sarah Colton, Sebastian T...jpg

Elizabeth Noir, Sebastian Jara, Sarah Colton, Sebastian Tucker (picture Courtesy Elizabeth Noir).

   Photo 1.b.230511 A&O Awards Night _ Daniel Krasofski, LABdk.jpg

Institute for Artwork and Olfaction board member, Daniel Krasofski, LABdk (Photograph courtesy Institute for Artwork & Olfaction)

Beneath is an inventory of finalists and honorable mentions within the Impartial, Artisan, and Sadakichi classes. Hold an eye fixed out and keep in mind the names of the winners, finalists, and honorable mentions, as a result of they signify the outer-most reducing fringe of inventive and area of interest perfumery.

Impartial Class Finalists

  • Animal Café, by ExtraVirgo
  • Flamingo, by Blackcliff
  • Hora de la Verdad, Sombra, by Senyokô
  • Los Angeles, by de Kloka X Dying & Co
  • Mansa, by Pernoire
  • Room No., by Perfumehead
  • Tri-Goddess, by Sage Goddess
  • Wind Blows, by QIUHAO

Impartial Class Honorable Mentions

  • Ceremony by In Fieri (USA)
  • Corpalium by Marlou (France)
  • Gold Spot by Sarah Baker (England)
  • Tong Ren by Elementals (Germany)
  • White Whale by Masque Milano (Italy)

Artisan Class Finalists

  • Alter Oud, by d.grayi
  • Encore du Temps, by Meo Fusciuni
  • Filament, by nosey individuals society
  • Backyard Heaux, by SAMAR
  • Osmanthus Floral, by Neshama Fragrance
  • Solario, by OSMOFOLIA
  • Tatami Desires, by Tavie Belle

Artisan Class Honorable Mentions

  • American Pharaoh by Folkwinds (USA)
  • Enlightenment by Christèle Jacquemin (France)
  • Lunar Mud by Mabelle O’rama (England)
  • No. 44 – Hearth and Rain by COGNOSCENTI (USA)
  • Purple Skies by Maher Olfactive (USA)

Sadakichi Award Finalists

  • Aerosculpture, by Maki Ueda
  • Aquanauts, by Pompe Hedengren with Karolina Stockhaus
  • Lágrimas, Terra e Crisântemo, by Karola Braga with Leandro Petit (Givaudan)
  • NEGR-OID, by Rhea Dillon
  • Scent Clock / The Koepenicker, by Patrick Palcic